Rock-a-Bye

So remember how I got this awesome rocking chair for free from my wonderful sister-in law?

Notice the hole in the seat. Her husband's bony fanny broke it. Twice.

priming

primed!

painting

painted!

Done!

Colors!

To fix the seat I just measured the existing seat and cut out a piece of plywood (leftovers from our roof) and nailed it on. Instant seat!

Things I would do differently:

  • Buy a better paint brush. It’s so annoying when the little brush hairs come out all over your chair. Ew.
  • Lightly sand the rocking chair before painting, just to have a smoother surface. Usually, I sand before I paint, but I have come to *loathe* sanding. I thought the wood was in pretty good shape so I skipped it this time. Although it worked out okay, I think it would have been prettier sanded. Sigh. This means I have to go back to sanding.
  • If you have something to fix–like the seat–fix the seat first and then paint. Ugh. I just can’t help myself. I love paint!!!
  • Buy a really big cushion for the seat. Just because the seat is 17 inches across it doesn’t mean an 18 inch pillow is the best choice. Even if it is the cheapest and 50% off.  Boo!
Seeing as this is my first major attempt at making a piece of furniture prettier I’m pleased. Plus, I learned a lot! Yay! That means I hopefully won’t ruin these:
I got four of these bad boys for a whopping two (yes, 2) dollars at a moving sale! Fifty cents each!! I drove by in the morning and they wanted $12.75 for each which isn’t bad considering what a brand new bar stool costs, but I didn’t have any cash on me. I went back later that afternoon to see if they were still there and they were…and so much cheaper!
Holla.
4 thoughts on “Rock-a-Bye

  1. the rocking chair looks so much better after the Some Man’s Trash treatment! And awesome find/price on those chairs. Can’t wait to see what you do with them!

  2. Pingback: I Shall Love You Today « Some Man's Trash

Have Something to Say?

